The Orthopaedic Spine Program within the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Toronto has a long history of international renown. Ian Macnab, Ed Simmons, John Kostiuk and Hamilton Hall put Toronto on the global orthopaedic map years ago.

Surgery is performed from the occiput to the coccyx (skull to tailbone). Pathologies include:

  • degenerative
  • tumor
  • trauma
  • infective, and
  • deformity.

The program is integrated with the Division of Neurosurgery Spine Program.

Dr. Albert Yee and Dr. Michael Fehlings are the co-chairs of the University of Toronto Spine Program. There are a total of 7 orthopaedic surgeons working at 4 different hospitals.

St. Michael’s Hospital

  • Dr. Henry Ahn

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

  • Dr. Michael Ford
  • Dr. Albert Yee
  • Dr. Joel Finkelstein
  • Dr. Jeremie Larouche
  • Dr. Barry Malcolm (nonsurgical)

University Health Network, Toronto Western site

  • Dr. Y. Raj Rampersaud
  • Dr. Steven Lewis
  • Dr. Christopher Nielsen

Hospital for Sick Children

  • Dr. David Lebel
  • Dr. Stephen Lewis
  • Dr. Reinhard Zeller

Dr. Cari Whyne (Sunnybrook) and Dr. Mark Erwin (Toronto Western) are staff scientists who contribute heavily to the research component of the program.

Spine Program Website