Graduation Day 2018 and Award Winners

Dear Colleagues, as you know, our most recent graduation day in honour of our graduating residents was held on Friday, March 16. Thank you to all of you who attended this highlight of our academic year.

It was a fantastic academic day as we heard research presentations and debates from our graduates. The day culminated with a fantastic talk on pelvic and acetabular fracture management by our Salter visiting professor Dr. Ross Leighton.

Awards handed out at Graduation Day included the Lawson Junior Resident awards to James Lee, Aouod Agenor, Matt Florczynski, Tan Chen, and Justin Chang.

The Best Teacher as voted by the residents was Hans Kreder.

The Award for Best Basic Science Research Presentation at Graduation Day went to Kim Tsoi and the Best Clinical Research Paper was given by James Higgins.

The winners of the debates were Norah Matthies and Justues Chang.

The Jim Wright award for Best Pediatric Paper was given to Jas Lochab.

Marissa Bonyun received the Borna Meisami award as the most compassionate resident. The Lawson award as the Best Academic Graduating Resident went to Kim Tsoi.

At dinner we honoured our graduates:

  • Marissa Bonyun
  • Justues Chang
  • Catherine Conlin
  • James Higgins
  • Jas Lochab
  • Norah Matthies
  • Sam Park
  • Matthew Rubacha
  • Ujash Sheth
  • Jason Shrouder-Henry
  • Kim Tsoi

Overall it was a tremendous Graduation Day which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Best regards,

Peter C. Ferguson MD MSc FRCSC FAOA
Albert and Temmy Latner Chair,
Division of Orthopaedics, Department of Surgery
University of Toronto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *