Highlights of Graduation Day 2021

Dear Colleagues,
Thanks to the many of you who joined us on Friday, June 4 for our first Dan Stojimirovic Graduation Day. This event was held virtually for the first time, and served to honour our graduates and recipients of our annual awards. The brochure can be downloaded from the password-protected section of our website.

The day started off with emotional tributes from Simon Kelley and Bill Kraemer in memory of Lucas Murnaghan and Dan Stojimirovic respectively. The losses of these two valued members of our division leave enormous holes in all of our lives. Their memories will live on in our Division.

We recognized our 2021 graduates Aouod Agenor, Amit Anand, Amy Behman, Hasaan Chaudhry, Jonathan Doyon, Matt Florczynski, Scott Kim, Jason Lam, Jhase Sniderman, and James Wu. In the face of a challenging environment including COVID, these talented young surgeons persevered and successfully passed their Royal College Exams. We are incredibly proud of your accomplishments and welcome you to our esteemed alumni.

Our 2020 Graduation Day was cancelled due to COVID, and so we also took the opportunity to honour our graduates from last year, Tara Baxter, Hilary Felice, Zachary Lim, Jennah Mann, Ryan Perlus and Ian Whatley. These individuals are all completing fellowships currently across North America and will be soon joining faculties across the country.

We introduced faculty members who have joined us in the past 2 years – Andrea Chan, Justues Chang, Harman Chaudhry, Mansur Halai, Stan Hamstra, Jeremie Larouche, Raman Mundi, Sam Park, Ryan Paul, Daniel Pincus, Ujash Sheth and Kim Tsoi. I would like to congratulate these individuals on joining our faculty and welcome them to our Orthopaedic family.

Dr. David Helfet gave our Robert ​Salter Lecture, an inspiring talk where he paid tribute to the many mentors in his long and accomplished career including our very own Marvin Tile and Joseph Schatzker.

Awards given out included:

Lawson awards for highest achievement on the OITE exam

  • PGY1 – Brent Bates
  • PGY2 – Johnathan Lex
  • PGY3 – Bill Mei
  • PGY4 – Jay Toor

The outstanding graduating resident, voted on by faculty, was Jonathan Doyon.

Aouod Agenor won the Borna Meisami award for the most compassionate resident.

David Burns was named winner of the James Waddell award as the PGY-4 resident with highest academic potential.

Amit Anand won the Robin Sullivan award for best research paper and Matt Florczynski the Robin Richards Award for best upper extremity paper at research day in the fall.

The best undergraduate teacher was Michael Zywiel. Markku Nousiainen won the Chair’s teaching award as best resident teacher.

The best fellow teacher was Tim Chuang.

Finally, we inducted Drs. Gordon Hunter, Bob Jackson and Dan Stojimirovic into the Toronto Orthopaedic Hall of Fame. We heard tributes to these individuals and we’re so happy that their families were able to join us in the celebration.

This brings to a conclusion an amazing year for our Division. Congratulations to all the graduates and award winners. We’re looking forward to a successful 2021-2022 academic year!

All the best,

Peter C. Ferguson MD MSc FRCSC FAOA
Albert and Temmy Latner Chair,
Division of Orthopaedics, Department of Surgery
University of Toronto