Graduation Day 2019

On behalf of Peter Ferguson, Chair of the Division of Orthopaedics University of Toronto

Dear Colleagues,
On Friday, June 7th, we held our annual Graduation Day festivities. I was particularly delighted to see the number of faculty that attended the academic portion of the day – it really means a lot to our graduating residents to see the support from their mentors.

Salter Lecture

Dr. Emil Schemitsch returned to Toronto and gave a motivating Salter Lecture entitled “Evidence Based Medicine – Is there a New Way Forward in Orthopaedic Surgery?”

Dr. Emil Schemitsch

Our graduating residents presented their research with Daniel Pincus selected as best research paper entitled “Delayed Hip Fracture Surgery Past 24 Hours Increases Complications: An Empirically-Derived Threshold for Clinical Decision-Making and Policy”. Kunal Bhanot and Justin Chang participated in an entertaining debate on “Femoral Neck Fractures in Physiologically Young Patients: To Open or Not to Open – That is the Question”. The debate was ultimately decided to be a draw.

The Graduates

In the evening, we celebrated with our graduates and alumni at the Arcadian Loft. We formally recognized the graduates from 2004, 1999, and 1994. Our graduating residents were formally recognized – thank you and best of luck to Tan Chen, Daniel Pincus, Joel Moktar, Joyce Fu, Jonathan Peck, Kunal Bhanot, Justin Chang, Eric Crawford, and Rohit Sheshgiri. We are incredibly proud of your accomplishments and welcome you to the exclusive group of graduates of our program.


Several divisional awards were given out including:

  • Lawson Award PGY1 – Tyler Hauer
  • Lawson Award PGY2 – James Lee
  • Lawson Award PGY3 – Aouod Agenor
  • Lawson Award PGY4 – David Burns
  • Most outstanding orthopaedic graduating resident – Daniel Pincus
  • Borna Meisami award for most compassionate graduating resident – Kunal Bhanot
  • James Waddell award for most promising academic PGY4 resident – David Burns
  • Best Undergraduate teacher – David Wasserstein
  • Best Postgraduate teacher – Aaron Nauth
  • Best fellowship Education Program – Hospital for Sick Children

Hall of Fame

Finally,  the highlight of the day’s events was the induction into the Toronto Orthopaedic Hall of Fame of Drs. Hamilton Hall, Ian Harrington, and Robin Richards. All are icons of Toronto Orthopaedics and very deserving of the recognition.

Left to right: Drs. Robin Richards, Ian Harrington, and Hamilton Hall

I would like to thank all of you for your immense contribution to our division and hope that you all have a safe and restful summer.

Peter C. Ferguson MD MSc FRCSC FAOA
Albert and Temmy Latner Chair,
Division of Orthopaedics, Department of Surgery
University of Toronto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *